

Indiana Component Report Dr. Lana R. Helms, DDS MSD

August 11, 2024

The annual IAO meeting was held in conjunction with the GLAO meeting in St Thomas on Friday, October 18th, 2024. We had great attendance. Congratulation to Dr. Kelton Stewart for presiding over an excellent GLAO doctor/staff meeting. The following officer slate was elected at the IAO meeting for the 2024-25 term:

President: Dr. Ariel Wong Vice-President: Dr. Joe Deek

Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Jamie Lazin Director-at-Large 1: Dr. Jeffrey Roberts Director-at-Large 2: Dr. Jim Thompson Northern Director: Dr. Emily Watson

Central Director: Dr. Paul Ellis

Southern Director: Dr. Kevin Coghlan GLAO Representative: Dr. Lana Helms

Immediate Past President: Dr. Andrew Raber

Legislative Liaison: Tasha Hall

The two proposed by-laws changes were passed by the membership at the meeting: 1) the addition of an ex-officio legislative liaison to attend all IAO board meetings, but not retain voting privileges and 2) virtual attendance of the IAO annual membership meetings. The bylaws will be posted on the IAO website soon.

The IAO presented gifts to all graduating IU orthodontic residents in July as part of the graduation ceremonies. We look forward to having those practicing in Indiana join our membership.

If you have any questions about this report, please contact me.

Respectfully submitted,

Lana R. Helms, DDS MSD Indiana Component Director to the GLAO