

AAO Council on Scientific Affairs Marilia Yatabe DDS, MS, PhD August 2024

COUNCIL ON SCIENTIFIC AFFAIRS REPORT

During Annual Session, COSA members judged 28 William R. Proffit Resident Scholar Award presentations and 31 Table Clinic presentations.

COSA members moderated 16 Oral Research presentations and the Hellman, Sicher, Graber lectures.

There were 246 E-Posters available for viewing during Annual Session.

The 2024 William R. Proffit Resident Scholar Award winners are:



From left to right bottom row: COSA chair Jose Bosio; Mary Cruz Contreras Salas; Flavia Gomes Velasque Gama; Emelia Karkazis; Seung Ah Jung; Emily Leach; Mohamed Adel

Basic Science Research

<u>First place:</u> Flavia Gomes Velasque Gama - University of Connecticut Research title: The Effects of FGF18 in a Mouse Model for TMJ Fibrocartilage Degradation

<u>Second place:</u> **Emelia Karkazis - University of Illinois-Chicago** Research title: Bone Characterization in a Novel Dicer-Deficiency Osteocyte Transgenic

Mouse Model

<u>Third place:</u> Mary Cruz Contreras Salas - University of Pennsylvania Research title: Age-Dependent Osteogenic Potentials of Mesenchymal Stem Cells During the Maxillary Expansion

Clinical Research

First place: Mohamed Adel - University of Kentucky

Research title: Precision Assessment of Facial Asymmetry Using 3D Facial Imaging and Artificial Intelligence

Second place: Emily Leach - University of Nebraska

Research title: Disposal of Orthodontic Clear Aligners: Out of Sight out of Mind?

Third place: Seung Ah Jung - University of the Pacific

Research title: Nasal Cavity Changes in Growing Patients Treated with MARPE: 3D Superimposition Study



Judges for the 2024 William R. Proffit Resident Scholar Award from left to right Bottom row: Eser Tufekci, Marilia Yatabe Middle row: Burcu Bayirli, Sumit Yadav, Michael Duryea Back row: Jose Bosio, Kelton Stewart, Thikriat Al-Jewair, Jeff Nickel, Helder Jacob The 2024 Joseph E. Johnson Clinical Award for Table Clinics winners are:



From left to right: Christine Bode, Francesca Gazzani, Kenya Montes de Oca Suarez

<u>First place:</u> Francesca Gazzani – Unicamillus, International Medical University of Rome

Research title: Effects of Maxillary Protraction Protocol with or without Bite Block on the Vertical Dimensions in Class III Subjects

<u>Second place:</u> Christine Bode - University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill Research title: Evaluating Impacts of Orthognathic Surgery on Speech in Class III Dentofacial Disharmony

<u>Third place:</u> Kenya Montes de Oca Suarez – National University of Mexico Research title: Autotransplantation of Transmigrated Canine: Case Report The 2024 Hellman, Sicher, Graber award winners received their award plaques prior to their lectures at Annual Session:



From left to right:

COSA chair Jose Bosio, Graber award winner **Erin Yoshida**, Graber award winner **Brittany Trinh**, Hellman award winner **Elizabeth Soulas**, Graber award winner **Erika Babikow**, Graber award winner **Katherine Chapman**, Sicher award winner **Sheng Wang**

Future Applications

2025 Milo Hellman Research Award, the Harry Sicher Research Award and the Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit.

Applications for these awards can be found on the 2025 Annual Session website - <u>https://www2.aaoinfo.org/annual-session-2025/</u>.

Only the online application will be accepted.

The application deadline is 6:00pm EDT on October 1, 2024.

COSA will be accepting online applications to present **Oral Research, Table Clinics** and **E-Posters** at the 2025 AAO Annual Session <u>starting the first week of August 2024</u>. The application **deadline is 6:00pm EDT on October 15, 2024**.

COSA will be accepting online applications for the **William R. Proffit Resident Scholar Award** presentations at the 2025 AAO Annual Session <u>starting the first week of</u> <u>December 2024</u>. The <u>first forty residents</u> who apply for the program will be accepted. The application **deadline is 6:00pm EST on February 3, 2025**.

The 2024-2025 members of COSA are:

- Dr. Jose Bosio, chair (MASO) Dr. Thikriat Al-Jewair (NESO)
- Dr. Burcu Bayirli (PCSO)
- Dr. Helder Jacob (SWSÓ)
- Dr. Denise Prugh (RMSO)
- Dr. Eser Tufekci (SAO)
- Dr. Sumit Yadav (MSO)
- Dr. Marilia Yatabe Ioshida (GLAO)
- Dr. Steven Marshall, Member at large
- Dr. Jeffrey Nickel, Member at large
- Dr. Rolf Behrents (Trustee Liaison)

COSA's next meeting is January 10, 2025 via Zoom.

Respectfully submitted,

Marilia Yatabe DDS, MS, PhD GLAO Representative to the AAO Council on Scientific Affairs

> The Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists 400 W. Wilson Bridge Road, Suite 120 Worthington, Ohio 43085 (877) 274-6420 (ph), (614) 221-1989 (fax) | glao@assnoffices.com | www.glao.org/